ABSTRACT

Branches of the government commercialize banks were distributed in to the villages during 1970 to 1980 in Sri Lanka. But the services are not sufficiently provided to the villages as their expectation. Therefore emerge a necessity to establish rural development bank for uplifting living standard of underprivileged people.

Wayamba Development Bank (WDB) which had been establish as a licensed specialized Bank Act No.6 of 1997, with the amalgamation of 3 Regional Rural Development Banks namely Kurunegala, Gampaha and Puttlam. Wayamba Development Bank is primarily involved in Micro lending in the above three District.

On completion of just 6 years of operation, it is now highly recognized and trusted by people of the area coming under the purview of the Bank. Today the Bank extends its services through a total network of 36 branches administrated by 3 Zonal Offices. Empowering the Micro, Small, and Medium Enterprises and also upgrading the living standard of salaried employees as the main objective, not only from the financial assistance but also from developing management capability, the Bank has made a notable contribution for the development of the region.

Wayamba Development Bank provides its services to the customers by providing wide range of products and services. Deposit mobilization and the lending are the two main products and services of the Bank. Deposit mobilization mainly includes normal saving, "Dayada, Pension, Sipsarana, Rankaty, Punchi, Kantha" and Sithumina saving certificate. Lending include housing loan, personal loan, leasing, pawn brokering and micro financing.

Bank owes a prime responsibility for Socio-Economic development of the under privileged people in the region that are not served by state or private commercial banks. People participate in the training programs conducted by the Bank on entrepreneurship development, social mobilization, leadership development and skill development.

Wayamba Development Bank is the largest state owned regional development bank in the country. Management consists of Chairman, 6 Board of Directors, General Manager and 10 Chief Managers with democratic leadership.